The Home of Sport Fencing in South Australia


There are currently 3 competition formats organised by Fencing SA:

The Robyn Chaplin Memorial
State Competitions
The Schools League

The Robyn Chaplin Memorial

The Robyn Chaplin Memorial is a round of the Australian Fencing Circuit. The event was named after Robyn Chaplin OAM, a South Australian athlete and esteemed administrator. It is held annually over the Queen’s Birthday long weekend in June. Details of the timetable and format of events can be accessed on the events section of this website.

State Competitions

All State Competitions are fenced in the same format. At the roll call time (15 minutes prior to the start time) the Directiore Technique (DT, Event Director) will issue the first roll call. If any fencer is not present the DT will issue two more roll calls at five minute intervals, any fencer who is not present at that time is eligible for disqualification.

After the roll call the DT will assign all fencers to pools of approximately six people, this will vary depending on the size of the competition, each fencer will fence every other fencer in their pool in bouts lasting three minutes, the winner is the first to five points or whoever has the most points after the time has elapsed. After all pools are completed the DT determines the seeding of the competitors based on their results in the pools.

Following the completion of the pool round all fencers will promote to the direct elimination rounds. During the direct elimination rounds every fencer will be assigned an opponent based on their seeding after the pools. Direct elimination bouts are usually fenced to fifteen hits in three minute periods with a one minute break between each period, however in veteran, Under 9, Under 13 and Under 11 competitions direct elimination bouts are fenced to ten hits in two three minute periods. The winner of each direct elimination bout promotes to the next round, the losers of bouts are removed from the competition. The competition continues by knockout until the winner is determined.

The Schools League

The Schools League is a team competition comprising a round robin 'league' followed by the tableau 'knockout challenge'.

There are three divisions in the League: junior, senior and girls. To qualify as a junior team, all the fencers must be in year 8 and below. The girls’ division is open to all ages. The teams will fence each other twice in the league.

FencingSA follows the appeals process outlined in the FIE rules and AFF rules. Initial appeals/disputes are managed by the referee of the event concerned and if unabled to be resolved, are referred to the DT of the day.

Competitions are held at the following venue unless otherwise noted:

The Lights Sports and Community Centre

244 – 270 East Parkway
(Corner Hampstead Rd & East Parkway)
Lightsview, SA 5085

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software